15. Good News

The secretary told me that Mr Harmsworth would see me. I felt very nervous when I went into his office. He did not look up from his desk when I entered. After I had sat down, he said that business was very bad. He told me that the firm could not afford to pay such large salaries. Twenty people had already left. I knew that my turn had come.
‘Mr Harmsworth,’ I said in a weak voice.
‘Don’t interrupt,’ he said.
Then he smiled and told me I would receive an extra 100 pounds a year!
Kabar baik

Sekretaris mengatakan kepada saya bahwa Mr Harmsworth akan melihat(bertemu) saya. Aku merasa sangat gugup ketika saya pergi ke kantornya. Dia tidak melihat ke atas dari mejanya ketika saya masuk. Setelah saya duduk, dia mengatakan bahwa bisnis itu sangat buruk. Dia mengatakan kepada saya bahwa perusahaan tidak mampu membayar gaji besar tersebut. Dua puluh orang telah meninggalkan. Saya tahu bahwa giliran saya datang.
‘Mr Harmsworth, “kataku dengan suara lemah.
‘Jangan menyela, “katanya.
Lalu ia tersenyum dan mengatakan bahwa aku akan menerima tambahan 100 pound per tahun!

Leave a Reply

