40. Food and Talk.

Last week a dinner-party, the hostess asked me to sit next to Mr Rumbold. Mr Rumbold was a large, unsmiling lady in a tight black dress. She did not even look up when I took my seat beside her. He eyes were fixed on her plate and in a short time, she was busy eating. I tried to make conversation. ‘ A new play is coming to “The Globe” soon, ‘ I said ‘Will you be seeing it ?’ ‘No, ‘she answered. ‘Will you be spending your holidays abroad this year ?’ I asked. ‘ No,’ she answered. ‘Will you be staying in England ? ‘I asked her whether she was enjoying her dinner. ‘Young man,’ she answered, ‘if you ate more and talked less, we would both enjoy our dinner !’.
Makanan dan Talk. Minggu lalu makan malam pihak, nyonya rumah meminta saya untuk duduk di samping Mr Rumbold. Mr Rumbold adalah, wanita tanpa senyum besar dalam gaun hitam ketat. Dia bahkan tidak melihat ke atas ketika saya duduk saya di sampingnya. Dia mata tertuju pada piring dan dalam waktu singkat, dia sedang sibuk makan. Saya mencoba untuk membuat percakapan. ‘Sebuah bermain baru akan datang ke “The Globe” segera, “kataku’ Apakah Anda akan melihatnya? ‘ “Tidak,” jawabnya. ‘Apakah Anda akan menghabiskan liburan Anda di luar negeri tahun ini?’ Saya bertanya. “Tidak,” jawabnya. ‘Apakah Anda akan tinggal di Inggris? “Saya bertanya apakah dia sedang menikmati makan malamnya. ‘Anak muda, “jawabnya,’ jika Anda makan lebih banyak dan berbicara kurang, kita akan berdua menikmati makan malam kami! ‘.
Leave a Reply

