78. The Last One

After reading an article entitled “Cigarette Smoking and You Health” I lit a cigarette to calm my nerves. I smoked with concentration and pleasure as I was sure that this would be my last cigarette. For a whole week I did not smoke at all and during this time, my wife suffered terribly. I had all the usual symptoms of someone giving up smoking : a bad temper and an enormous appetite. My friends kept on offering me cigarettes and cigars. They made no effort to hide their amusement whenever I produced a packet of sweets from my pocket. After seven days of this I went to a party. Everybody around me was smoking and I felt extremely uncomfortable. When my old friend Brian urged me to accept a cigarette, it was more than I could bear. I took one guiltily, lit it and smoked with satisfaction. My wife was delighted that things had returned to normal once more. Anyway, as Brian pointed out, it is the easiest thing in the world to give up smoking. He himself has done it lots of time !.
Yang terakhir. Setelah membaca sebuah artikel berjudul “Merokok Rokok dan Anda Kesehatan” Saya menyalakan rokok untuk menenangkan saraf saya. Saya merokok dengan konsentrasi dan kesenangan karena aku yakin bahwa ini akan menjadi rokok terakhir saya. Untuk seluruh minggu saya tidak merokok sama sekali dan selama waktu ini, istri saya sangat menderita. Saya memiliki semua gejala yang biasa seseorang berhenti merokok: temperamen buruk dan nafsu makan besar. Teman-teman saya terus menawarkan saya rokok dan cerutu. Mereka tidak berusaha untuk menyembunyikan kesenangan mereka setiap kali saya menghasilkan paket permen dari saku saya. Setelah tujuh hari ini saya pergi ke pesta. Semua orang di sekitar saya merokok dan saya merasa sangat tidak nyaman. Ketika teman lama saya Brian mendesak saya untuk menerima rokok, itu lebih dari saya tahan. Aku mengambil satu bersalah, menyalakannya dan merokok dengan kepuasan. Istri saya sangat senang bahwa hal-hal telah kembali normal lagi. Bagaimanapun, seperti Brian menunjukkan, itu adalah hal yang termudah di dunia untuk berhenti merokok. Dia sendiri telah melakukannya banyak waktu!.
Leave a Reply

