87. A Perfect Alibi

 ‘At time the murder was committed, I was travelling on the 8 o’clock train to London, ‘said the man. ‘Do you always catch such an early train ? ‘asked the inspector. ‘Of course I do, ‘answered the man. ‘I must be at work at 10 o’clock. My employer will confirm that I was there on time.’ ‘Would a later train get you to work on time ?’ asked the inspector. ‘I suppose it would, but I never catch a later train.’ ‘At what time did you arrive at the station ?’. ‘At ten to eight. I bought a paper and waited for the train. ‘And you didn’t notice anything unusual ?’ ‘Of course not.’ ‘I suggest said the inspector, ‘that you are not telling the truth. I suggest that you did not catch the 8 o’clock train, but that you caught the 8.25 which would still get you to work on time. You see, on the morning of the murder, the 8 o’clock train did not at all. It broke down at Ferngreen station and was taken off the line.’
Sebuah Alibi Sempurna. ‘Pada saat pembunuhan itu dilakukan, saya bepergian di kereta pukul 8 ke London, “kata orang itu. “Apakah Anda selalu menangkap seperti kereta awal? ‘Tanya inspektur. “Tentu saja aku lakukan,” jawab pria itu. “Aku harus bekerja pada pukul 10. majikan saya akan mengkonfirmasi bahwa aku ada di sana tepat waktu. ” ‘Akan kereta kemudian mendapatkan Anda untuk bekerja pada waktu?’ tanya inspektur. “Saya kira itu akan, tapi saya tidak pernah menangkap kereta kemudian.” ‘Pada apa waktu Anda tiba di stasiun?’. ‘Pada 7:50. Saya membeli kertas dan menunggu kereta. “Dan kau tidak melihat sesuatu yang aneh?” ‘Tentu saja tidak.’ “Saya sarankan kata inspektur,” bahwa Anda tidak mengatakan yang sebenarnya. Saya menyarankan agar Anda tidak naik kereta pukul 8, tetapi Anda menangkap 8.25 yang masih akan mendapatkan Anda untuk bekerja pada waktu. Anda lihat, pada pagi hari pembunuhan itu, kereta pukul 8 tidak sama sekali. Itu rusak di stasiun Ferngreen dan dibawa off line. ‘
Leave a Reply

