92. Asking for Trouble

It must have been about two in the morning when I returned home. I tried to wake up my wife by ringing the doorbell, but she was fast asleep, so I got a ladder from the shed in the garden, put it against the wall, and began climbing towards the bedroom window. I was almost there when a sarcastic voice below said, ‘I don’t think the windows need cleaning at this time of the night. ‘I looked down and nearly fell off the ladder when I saw a policeman. I immediately regretted answering in the way I did, but said, ‘I enjoy cleaning windows at night’. ‘So do I’, answered the policeman in the same tone, ‘Excuse my interrupting you. I hate to interrupt a man when he’s busy working, but would you mind coming with me to the station ?’. ‘Well, I’d prefer to stay’, I said. ‘You see, I’ve forgotten my key’. ‘Your what ? he called. ‘My key’, I shouted. Fortunately, the shouting woke up my wife who opened the window just as the policeman had started to climb towards me.
Meminta Trouble. Pasti sekitar dua di pagi hari ketika aku kembali ke rumah. Aku mencoba untuk bangun istri saya dengan dering bel pintu, tapi dia cepat tertidur, jadi aku tangga dari gudang di taman, meletakkannya di dinding, dan mulai mendaki menuju jendela kamar tidur. Saya hampir di sana ketika suara sinis bawah berkata, “Saya tidak berpikir jendela perlu dibersihkan saat ini malam. “Aku melihat ke bawah dan hampir jatuh dari tangga ketika aku melihat seorang polisi. Aku segera menyesali menjawab dengan cara yang saya lakukan, tetapi mengatakan, “Saya menikmati membersihkan jendela di malam hari ‘. ‘Begitu saya, menjawab polisi dalam nada yang sama,’ Maaf saya mengganggu Anda. Aku benci untuk mengganggu seorang pria ketika dia sibuk bekerja, tapi akan Anda keberatan datang dengan saya ke stasiun? “. “Yah, saya lebih memilih untuk tinggal ‘, kataku. “Anda lihat, saya lupa kunci ‘. ‘Anda apa? dia memanggil. ‘Tombol’, aku berteriak. Untungnya, teriakan bangun istri saya yang membuka jendela seperti polisi sudah mulai naik ke arah saya.
Leave a Reply

